Specifications of the Ford Focus I, II and III


Ford Focus is a car in the C-class segment produced by Ford from 1998 to the present day. During its history, the car has undergone three generations in development. British magazine CAR considers it one of the 50 greatest cars of the last 50 years.

Focus is a very popular car - Europe is among the top 10 best-selling cars, and in Russia it was the best-selling foreign car in 2010, and in 2012 the best-selling car in the world.

The closest competitors of Focus are cars of other brands, such as Citroen C4, Hyundai Elantra, Fiat Bravo, Honda Civic, Renault Fluence, Kia ceed, Opel Astra, Skoda Octavia, Toyota Corolla, Toyota Auris, Chevrolet Cruze, Mazda 3, Lada Vesta, Mitsubishi Lancer, Nissan Almera, Peugeot 308, Renault Fluence and Volkswagen Golf.

First generation

Ford Focus I. Front view 
Ford Focus I. Front view
Ford introduced the first Focus in 1998 in Europe as a replacement for the Escort. The first generation was produced until 2004. In 2002, a restyling was carried out, including updated headlights, bumper, grille, center console, seats and an additional set of options.

Sales began in North America in October 1999 as a Christmas surprise for Ford CEO Jacques Nasser.

Ford Focus I. Back view 
Ford Focus I. Back view
Focus was produced in various body modifications - 3-door hatchback, 5-door hatchback, sedan and station wagon. The transmission is available in three versions - 4-speed automatic, as well as mechanical 5-speed and 6-speed. Engines have a wide choice - petrol: 1.4, 1.6, 1.8 and 2.0 liters, as well as diesel 1.8 liters.

According to EuroNCAP Focus received 4 out of 5 stars for driver and passenger safety, 2 out of 4 stars for pedestrian safety.

Second generation

Ford Focus II. Front view 
Ford Focus II. Front view
On September 23, 2004, the second generation Focus was presented at the Paris Motor Show. It was produced from 2004 to 2011.

The size of the car has become slightly larger, both in terms of wheelbase and overall length, width and weight. Body rigidity increased by 10%. Along with this, the new suspension design has improved the handling of the car.

Ford Focus II. Back view 
Ford Focus II. Back view
New technologies have not left this generation aside - KeyFree technology, adaptive headlights, Bluetooth phone connectivity, voice control for an audio player, phone and climate control. The style of the car has the same design source as the models Mondeo and Fiesta.

Vehicle safety was rated 5 out of 5 stars for adult protection, 4 out of 5 for child protection and 2 out of 4 for pedestrian protection by EuroNCAP, outperforming competitors in this segment Opel Astra and VW Golf.

The body was produced in five versions - 3-door and 5-door hatchback, 4-door sedan, 5-door station wagon and 2-door coupe-cabriolet. The transmission is available in four options - 4-speed automatic, 5-speed and 6-speed manual and 6-speed PowerShift. 1.4, 1.6, 1.8, 2.0 and 2.5 liter Duratec petrol engines and 1.6, 1.8 and 2.0 liter Duratorq TDCi diesel engines.

Third generation

Ford Focus III. Front view 
Ford Focus III. Front view
Introduced in 2010 at the North American International Auto Show in Detroit as a 2012 model. Produced from 2011 to the present. This model has become «global», which means the change of the European second generation and the 10-year-old North American.

The most interesting technical innovations are the EcoBoost SCTi family engines, PowerShift six-speed preselective gearbox, electric power steering, side airbags, «curtains» security.

Ford Focus III. Back view 
Ford Focus III. Back view
The most interesting options are the iPod connection via USB, active parking assistance, driver fatigue monitoring, low speed collision avoidance, vehicle availability information «dead» zone, lane departure warning, traffic sign recognition.

The body is made in three versions - a 5-door hatchback, a 4-door sedan and a 5-door station wagon. The engines are 1.0, 1.5, 2.0 and 2.3 liter Ecoboost petrol, 1.6 liter Duratec Ti-VCT petrol and 1.5, 1.6 and 2.0 liter Duratorq TDCi diesel engines. The transmission can be mechanical or robotic PowerShift.

Fourth generation

Ford Focus IV. Hatchback 
Ford Focus IV. Hatchback
In April 2018, the 4th generation Ford Focus was introduced with the code «C519». This year marks the 20th anniversary of this model. This car was mainly focused on the markets of China, Europe, the Australian region, as demand for it fell in primary markets. Platform based «Ford C2», which is also used for the Ford Bronco Sport, Ford Escape, Ford Kuga, Ford Maverick and Lincoln Corsair of the same model years. The body has become 20% more torsional stiffer, and the weight has become an average of 80 kg lighter. The body was produced in three forms - 5-door hatchback and station wagon or 4-door sedan.

Ford Focus IV. Sedan 
Ford Focus IV. Sedan
Gasoline engines were first three-cylinder of the following models - 1.0 liters (998 cm3, EcoBoost, turbo, 85/100/125 hp), 1.5 liters (1497 cm3, EcoBoost, turbo, 150/182 hp) and 1.5 liters (1497 cm3, Dragon, 123 hp). Since 2019, a 2.3-liter four-cylinder engine has appeared (2261 cm3, EcoBoost, turbo, 280 hp). Diesel four-cylinder engines are represented by two models with a volume of 1.5 liters (1498 cm3, EcoBlue, 95/120 hp) and 2.0 liters (1995 cm3, EcoBlue, 150/190 hp), all turbocharged. Transmission 6-speed manual or 8-speed automatic.

The model has been updated for 2020. A mild hybrid drive with a 1.0-liter petrol engine became available, and some interior equipment was also updated.

Feature Table Focus

First1998-20041.4 Zetec-SE (74 HP)
1.6 Zetec-SE (100 HP)
1.6 Zetec-Rocam (109 HP)
1.8 Zetec-E (113 HP)
2.0 Zetec-SE (128 HP)
2.0 Duratec HE (146 HP)
2.0 Duratec ST (171 HP)
2.0 T Duratec RS (212 HP)
1.8 TDDI (89 HP)
1.8 TDCi (114 HP)
hatchbackWheelbase: 2615 mm
Length: 4175 mm
Width: 1700 mm
Height: 1440 mm
SedanWheelbase: 2615 mm
Length: 4380 mm
Width: 1700 mm
Height: 1440 mm
station wagonWheelbase: 2615 mm
Length: 4455 mm
Width: 1700 mm
Height: 1460 mm
Second2004-20111.4 Duratec (79 HP)
1.6 Duratec (99 HP)
1.6 Ti-VCT Duratec (113 HP)
1.8 Duratec HE (123 HP)
2.0 Duratec HE (143 HP)
2.5 Duratec ST (222 HP)
2.5 Duratec RS (301 HP)
2.5 Duratec RS500 (345 HP)
1.6 Duratorq TDCi (89 HP)
1.6 Duratorq TDCi (99 HP)
1.6 Duratorq TDCi (108 HP)
1.8 Duratorq TDCi (113 HP)
2.0 Duratorq TDCi (109 HP)
2.0 Duratorq TDCi (134 HP)
hatchbackWheelbase: 2640 mm
Length: 4340 mm
Width: 1840 mm
Height: 1500 mm
SedanWheelbase: 2640 mm
Length: 4480 mm
Width: 1840 mm
Height: 1495 mm
station wagonWheelbase: 2640 mm
Length: 4470 mm
Width: 1840 mm
Height: 1500 mm
coupe-cabrioletWheelbase: 2640 mm
Length: 4510 mm
Width: 1835 mm
Height: 1448 mm
Third2011-...1.0 Ecoboost (99 HP)
1.0 Ecoboost (123 HP)
1.6 Ti-VCT Duratec (84 HP)
1.6 Ti-VCT Duratec (104 HP)
1.6 Ti-VCT Duratec (123 HP)
1.6 Ecoboost (148 HP)
1.6 Ecoboost (180 HP)
2.0 Ecoboost (247 HP)
1.6 Duratorq (94 HP)
1.6 Duratorq (113 HP)
1.6 Duratorq ECOnetic (104 HP)
2.0 Duratorq (113 HP)
2.0 Duratorq (138 HP)
2.0 Duratorq (161 HP)
hatchbackWheelbase: 2648 mm
Length: 4358 mm
Width: 1823 mm
Height: 1484 mm
SedanWheelbase: 2648 mm
Length: 4534 mm
Width: 1823 mm
Height: 1484 mm
station wagonWheelbase: 2648 mm
Length: 4556 mm
Width: 1823 mm
Height: 1505 mm

Link to this page in different formats

Focus 2 
Focus Turnier 1 
Focus 1